Lady Gaga, Adele invited to join Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Next year, when stars stand onstage clutching their Oscars and say that they’d like to “thank the Academy,” among the people they’ll be thanking are Lady Gaga, Adele, Sterling K. Brown and Mark Ronson.

Interested in Oscars?

These stars are among more than 800 members of the showbiz community who’ve been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences — and that means they can now vote on who wins the Oscars.

Gaga was actually invited to join the Academy by two of its branches: Music and Acting.

She, along with Mark Ronson, won the Oscar for Best Original Song earlier this year for “Shallow,” but she was also nominated for Best Actress in “A Star Is Born.”

Other notable new Academy members include Eurythmics frontwoman and Oscar winner Annie Lennox, Sterling K. Brown, Letitia Wright and Winston Duke of “Black Panther,” Claire Foy of “The Crown”, “Spider-Man” star Tom Holland, Elisabeth Moss, Amanda Peet and Alexander Skarsgard.

Half of the new members are women, and 29 percent are people of color.

Source: Read Full Article