Ratched Netflix episodes: How many episodes are in Ratched?

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Ryan Murphy’s latest series Ratched is landing on Netflix this week as a twist on the classic story of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Ahead of it airing on the streaming platform, here is everything fans need to know about the new series, including when exactly it is released and how many episodes there will be.

How many episodes are in Ratched on Netflix?

Fans of the classic Jack Nicholson film One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest are sure to love Netflix’s new thriller.

Ratched is a psychological drama series looking at the origin story of Mildred Ratched (played by Sarah Paulson).

Fans of the original film and book will best know the character as the psychotic head nurse of the mental institution.

However, Murphy’s new show explores how she came to be so wicked in the first place.

Set in 1947, the story follows Nurse Ratched as she arrives in California at a psychiatric hospital.

Here she comes face-to-face with the horrifying new experiments the doctors are carrying out on the patients.

According to the official synopsis: “On a clandestine mission, Mildred presents herself as the perfect image of what a dedicated nurse should be, but the wheels are always turning.

“As she begins to infiltrate the mental health care system and those within it, Mildred’s stylish exterior belies a growing darkness that has long been smouldering within, revealing that true monsters are made, not born.”

The show stars Sarah Paulson in the title role of the evil nurse.

All of the new episodes will be dropped on Netflix at once on Friday, September 18.

UK viewers will be able to watch them from 8 am GMT as this is when the streaming platform releases its original shows.

In total in the new series, there will be eight episodes for fans to enjoy.


Sharon Stone addresses ‘weird’ moment she realised she was famous [INTERVIEW]
American Horror Story spoilers: Evan Peters CONFIRMS exit [INSIGHT]
Hollywood on Netflix: Was Peg Entwistle real? [VIDEO]

So far, seven of the new episode titles have been released by the Writers Guild of America. These are:

  • Episode one: Angel of Mercy
  • Episode two: Angel of Mercy, Part II
  • Episode three: Got No Strings
  • Episode four: Ice Pick
  • Episode five: Mildred and Edmund
  • Episode six: The Bucket List
  • Episode seven: The Dance

Alongside Paulson in the new show, there will also be several other recognisable faces appearing in season one.

This includes American Horror Story star Finn Wittrock as Edmund Tolleson and Sex and the City actor Cynthia Nixon as Gwendolyn Briggs.

Hollywood star Sharon Stone also has a major role in the new series as Lenore Osgood.

Jon Jon Briones, Charlie Carver, Judy Davis and Brandon Flynn will all also appear.

Speaking about the new series, star Paulson opened up to inews.co.uk about why she wanted to explore the iconic character.

She said: “When I watched Cuckoo’s Nest when I was younger, I had a more traditional response to her: she’s evil, she’s cruel, she’s a killjoy.

“But watching it again, when I realised I had to play her, you see that she lives within a patriarchal infrastructure.

“She does not have the encouragement to speak her mind, to allow her humanity. She’s calcified, she’s so hard.”

Ratched launches on Netflix on Friday, September 18.

Source: Read Full Article